• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Running extra rich
#1
Was ruuning rich on old carb so bought new carb 600CFM. Now popping from tailpipe. Pulled plugs and all are black carbon covered. Should I go up one heat range on new plugs or could something else be wrong

[Image: 1_30_09_13_10_12_32.png]
Alan L
  Reply
#2
not2old,
Have you checked your timing according to your cam selection. My chevelle needed to run richer due to the higher lift and seperation, If it's doing the same thing with 2 differnt carbs, you may want to take a look at it.

[Image: 2rr7aiv.png]

Just cruising along minding our own business when BAM!!! The LAWS show up.
  Reply
#3
Did you pull the plugs and look at them before installing the new carb. The black carbon may be left over from the old carb, just a thought.



Mike AKA Ole Pony & Rare Pony

Our current Mustang garage/driveway
1973 Mustang Convert - Bought in 1974 - Still have it!
2004 Mach 1 Oxford White Auto, Bought Sept 06


[Image: 20180127_082009.jpg]

upload a photo on internet




  Reply
#4
Yes carbon from old carb.. Popping now with new carb not with old one.

[Image: 1_30_09_13_10_12_32.png]
Alan L
  Reply
#5
Popping all of the time or ??

'Mike'
73 Convertible - 351C/4V CC heads/4bolt/forged flat tops/comp 270/rhodes/mallory unilite/tri-power/hookers/glasspacks/c6/3.50 limited slip/Gear Vendors/Global West sub frames, strut rods and shelby style traction bars/ Rear sway bar/tilt steering (not original)

Pics of modifications included in:
  Reply
#6
constant popping from right bank only

[Image: 1_30_09_13_10_12_32.png]
Alan L
  Reply
#7
check wires, possible crossed/burnt ???
  Reply
#8
Tnfastbk;31377 Wrote:check wires, possible crossed/burnt ???
Ditto..Had the same problem on my camaro..changed the wires problem gone !

LOVE OF BEAUTY IS TASTE..THE CREATION OF BEAUTY IS ART
  Reply
#9
Thanks guys, will check order of wires on cap and replace if correct. Will plugs clean themselves?

Alan L

[Image: 1_30_09_13_10_12_32.png]
Alan L
  Reply
#10
what type of ignition are you running if you are running pertronix make sure to bypass the resistance wire. You need a full twelve volts. I was burning spark plugs and getting backfires like crazy from the tailpipes. Now it's running great. If you are not running pertronix or you have bypassed the resistance wire. Check your wires and coil. If you are not getting good ignition putting in hotter spark plugs will probably not help you. giving the plugs a good cleaning won't hurt. Better yet get a brand new set.

Eric


[Image: a58hgh.jpg]
DRIVE IT DON'T STORE IT!
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Anyone running Flowmaster 15807 2.5" tailpipes? Bentworker 7 186 11-16-2018, 11:31 PM
Last Post: Bentworker
  What FI systems are you guys running? scgamecock 1 193 11-11-2018, 02:43 PM
Last Post: Don C
runninpony Hooker headers extra tube bit? Ballaratcastle 2 236 10-24-2018, 12:43 PM
Last Post: Ballaratcastle
  1973 351 C running hot issues Carolina_Mountain_Mustangs 27 1,275 08-08-2018, 10:28 AM
Last Post: Carolina_Mountain_Mustangs
  Feels like its running out if gass?? waterlife 42 1,642 05-03-2018, 09:48 PM
Last Post: Studdley
  Throttle Bar??? Car stopped running. Knoxville72Stang 3 735 10-29-2017, 07:19 AM
Last Post: delawarebill
  Need extra vacuum source eventhorizon 4 623 07-16-2017, 08:39 AM
Last Post: eventhorizon
  New 393C running, Won't Rev Beyond ~3500 RPM Casey72 127 7,481 06-03-2016, 11:26 AM
Last Post: Casey72



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)