• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Printed circuit repair???
#1
Removed dash cluster for some troubleshooting. After getting it out and reinstalling it I had no dash lights. I removed the cluster again, and saw that  on the circuit board where the plug goes has several contacts bent out of shape and not making contact when the plug is connected These are the copper looking contacts that have come loose from the board but are still in one piece and can be set back into their proper locations. Is there a glue, or adhesive that I can use to hold in the proper location, or do I just get a new board? They are only loose where they go into the female section of the board, maybe 1/8th to 1/4 inch each...……………..
  Reply
#2
(07-16-2018, 02:10 PM)Danno Wrote: Removed dash cluster for some troubleshooting. After getting it out and reinstalling it I had no dash lights. I removed the cluster again, and saw that  on the circuit board where the plug goes has several contacts bent out of shape and not making contact when the plug is connected These are the copper looking contacts that have come loose from the board but are still in one piece and can be set back into their proper locations. Is there a glue, or adhesive that I can use to hold in the proper location, or do I just get a new board? They are only loose where they go into the female section of the board, maybe 1/8th to 1/4 inch each...……………..

Yes, they can be fixed, but not for long.  Best to buy a new circuit card or ask that jerk Midlife to hack your underdash harness for a hard-wire dash cluster harness.

Let me check your shorts!
http://midlifeharness.com

[Image: Flamicon2.jpg]


[Image: oldfart.png]
  Reply
#3
Why do you say that? LOL !!!!!! You’ve helped me out several times and have repaired a harness that the P.O. had butchered. 
Don’t want to start on a project like that just yet. I’ll either repair it, or buy a new one. 
So what do you use to reattach the copper strips to the circuit board?
  Reply
#4
Glue, but you have to be very careful not to get glue on the contact side of the copper. It ain't worth the effort, Danno...buy the replacement card.

Let me check your shorts!
http://midlifeharness.com

[Image: Flamicon2.jpg]


[Image: oldfart.png]
  Reply
#5
I put in a new card and still don't have dash lights despite power at the plug and a good earth
The old card did not have the tabs glued in so didn't see the need to glue the new ones in
I don't wish to remove the entire dash again so will probably have a go at running a jump wire to one of the illumination sockets
I would strongly recommend getting Midlife to hard wire your cluster, that is if he will let you
  Reply
#6
(07-16-2018, 09:29 PM)OzCoupe72 Wrote: I put in a new card and still don't have dash lights despite power at the plug and a good earth
The old card did not have the tabs glued in so didn't see the need to glue the new ones in
I don't wish to remove the entire dash again so will probably have a go at running a jump wire to one of the illumination sockets
I would strongly recommend getting Midlife to hard wire your cluster, that is if he will let you

Everything was working until I started messing with trying to reconnect the power plug. I could feel the copper strips on the board coming loose at the connection point, so I fought with the speedo connector until I got it loose, remover the cluster, and saw what I expected to see on the board.
Probably take MIDLIFE's recommendation and get a new board...……….
  Reply
#7
(07-16-2018, 08:03 PM)midlife Wrote: thumb Glue, but you have to be very careful not to get glue on the contact side of the copper.  It ain't worth the effort, Danno...buy the replacement card.

thumb ::thumb:
  Reply
#8
I just bought a brand new one of these off eBay for$42.99. That was the no tach one. The one with tach is 55.99. Free shipping also. Ryan

1973 Mach 1, Porsche Guards Red, 429/C6
1972 Mach 1, Grabber Blue, 302/C4, currently under construction
  Reply
#9
(07-17-2018, 09:49 AM)73429mach Wrote: I just bought a brand new one of these off eBay for$42.99. That was the no tach one. The one with tach is 55.99. Free shipping also. Ryan
  Reply
#10
Got one through Ebay last week. With Tach was $36 + $16 shipping. Perfect fit and everything works again.
Quick and easy fix.
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Convertible Top Relay circuit? Butch65 4 236 09-04-2018, 08:11 AM
Last Post: Bill73Ragtop
  Dash Circuit Board digithead 4 407 08-30-2018, 06:48 AM
Last Post: digithead
  Blowing Fuse on Accessory / Ignition Circuit Butch65 17 1,119 07-10-2018, 10:30 AM
Last Post: Don C
Wrench 90* Slip-on Connector Repair Parts midlife 1 233 05-07-2018, 07:05 PM
Last Post: Don C
  Console Clock restoration / repair Stanglover 35 3,541 12-10-2017, 11:12 AM
Last Post: NOT A T5
  Drilling holes in door to repair window motor? mbrew2 6 586 02-21-2017, 12:41 PM
Last Post: Don C
runninpony Positive and Negative on the printed circuit board 1971convertible 33 3,919 10-17-2016, 02:43 PM
Last Post: 73pony
  Instrument Cluster trace repair digithead 12 2,055 05-06-2016, 03:18 PM
Last Post: ejnonamaker



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)