• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
New Gauges won't allow car to start
#1
I just installed a set of Auto Meter Gauges in my 73 coupe and went to to test them out and the car wouldn't start. After fiddling for a while I found that if I disconnected the the Tach signal wire that comes from the distributor it will fire right up. Has anyone ever seen or heard of something like this? Please help!
  Reply
#2
Ignition circuit in original wired cars go through the tach so is that your problem? Grounding it when you connect it?
  Reply
#3
did you bypas the original tach circuit by connecting the two tach wires together and running a new signal wire for the tach?

[Image: 1_01_07_15_8_53_18.png]

"I love my Hookers!" and "Get some Strange" probably have a different connotation to non automotive enthusiasts!
  Reply
#4
Did the car have the original tach option?

'Mike'
73 Convertible - 351C/4V CC heads/4bolt/forged flat tops/comp 270/rhodes/mallory unilite/tri-power/hookers/glasspacks/c6/3.50 limited slip/Gear Vendors/Global West sub frames, strut rods and shelby style traction bars/ Rear sway bar/tilt steering (not original)

Pics of modifications included in:
  Reply
#5
Jeff73Mach1;258090 Wrote:did you bypas the original tach circuit by connecting the two tach wires together and running a new signal wire for the tach?

+1
If you installed a new tach with it's own power connections you will need to jumper the 2 original tach wires for the car to start.

-john
(jbojo)
351C 4V cc heads, 10.5 : 1 CR, 290 Herbert cam, Flat top forged pistons, forged connecting rods, Atomic efi,
C6 with Gear Vendor overdrive, 3.89 Tru Trac, Hooker Super Comp with 2 1/2" Pypes Exhaust.        

Some Mod pictures can be seen at:

  Reply
#6
Did you run a new wire from the tach to the coil, or try to use an existing wire? Either way, a short or ground is the most likely reason. #2 would be incorrect connections, #3 would be a faulty tach.

Because you said removing your tach wire allows the engine to start I'm assuming you didn't mess with the existing lead from the ignition switch to the coil, whether or not you had an original tach.



“If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.”
--Albert Einstein
  Reply
#7
old thread, new reply. green wire w/red stripe from key goes through tach to coil, is also resistor wire behind tach bezel. ford tacos  are current, not voltage based. (also why m.s.d. boxes need tach adaptor to work tach) no tach, no no spark. run jumper wire at connector in loom behind tach to start car.
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Factory tach and center gauges without changing harness? TheDude 16 856 01-07-2019, 09:28 PM
Last Post: midlife
  Center Gauges jpaz 5 363 12-29-2018, 09:26 PM
Last Post: jpaz
  not a good start to the day 71_resurrection 8 540 10-20-2018, 07:07 PM
Last Post: 71_resurrection
runninpony 3 Gauges Bulb Socket NOT A T5 3 334 08-13-2018, 08:37 AM
Last Post: midlife
  Audio Through Car Speakers ClintBarton 1 406 06-19-2018, 08:04 AM
Last Post: Don C
  Tach/gauges conversion 73429mach 21 1,959 01-26-2018, 06:27 PM
Last Post: 73429mach
  Gauges fail and not mpbsr 9 655 01-16-2018, 06:04 AM
Last Post: NOT A T5
  Do fuel gauges fail in this manner? Flatback72 8 1,189 01-14-2018, 11:18 PM
Last Post: Flatback72



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)