• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Monte Carlo bar fitment issues
#1
Hi everyone, here goes my first tech thread! Cool I have a 71 coupe and I want to do some suspension upgrades. I have stiff coils up front, but nothing else, so the first order of the day was to get a monte carlo bar to stiffen up the front of the chassis. 30 bucks later, I have a nice shiny black bar taking up space in my living room. Thing is, as I went to drop it in, the bolt holes align perfectly, but the bar isn't long enough. There's about an inch of gap between the end of the bar and the other side of the engine bay. I've heard of the bars not fitting because the shock towers are too close together (requiring lifting the car to "relax" them), but having an inch of EXTRA space?!?! I started thinking maybe my chassis was bent or something. But to throw me off even more, the bar doesn't even clear the distributor. And it's a stock distributor. What gives? This bar was in NPD specifically for 71-73 Mustangs, yet it doesn't even get close to fitting. Has anyone had this issue before? And does anyone know the distance from shock tower to shock tower? I need to measure, maybe my chassis is twisted, although that still doesn't clarify the distributor issue. Undecided I'm one seriously confused guy right now.

[Image: 2jaxcna.jpg]
  Reply
#2
Interesting. I would suggest you measure the bar and post up the measurement. Maybe it is the wrong bar?

'Mike'
73 Convertible - 351C/4V CC heads/4bolt/forged flat tops/comp 270/rhodes/mallory unilite/tri-power/hookers/glasspacks/c6/3.50 limited slip/Gear Vendors/Global West sub frames, strut rods and shelby style traction bars/ Rear sway bar/tilt steering (not original)

Pics of modifications included in:
  Reply
#3
will e;82093 Wrote:Interesting. I would suggest you measure the bar and post up the measurement. Maybe it is the wrong bar?

+1
  Reply
#4
The only quick check measurement to be made with the engine installed that I know of is 28.44 inches center to center of the bolts that attach the front sway bar to the frame. I know you are interested in the top but it may give you a place to start. If it is closed up at the bottom it may mean it is out at the top. Chuck
  Reply
#5
Really your talking a 1/2" on each side since you need to split the inch by 2..
Have you had the car aligned ? if so what are the camber readings ? both within spec..A car with one tower out or both out may show in the camber readings

LOVE OF BEAUTY IS TASTE..THE CREATION OF BEAUTY IS ART
  Reply
#6
will e;82093 Wrote:Interesting. I would suggest you measure the bar and post up the measurement. Maybe it is the wrong bar?

Yeah, didn't provide that bit of info. I'll measure the bar tomorrow morning.

c9zx;82113 Wrote:The only quick check measurement to be made with the engine installed that I know of is 28.44 inches center to center of the bolts that attach the front sway bar to the frame. I know you are interested in the top but it may give you a place to start. If it is closed up at the bottom it may mean it is out at the top. Chuck

Thanks! That's a good reference point. At least I know if i don't get that measurement I should really begin to worry Confused

Qcode351mach;82130 Wrote:Really your talking a 1/2" on each side since you need to split the inch by 2..
Have you had the car aligned ? if so what are the camber readings ? both within spec..A car with one tower out or both out may show in the camber readings

The car was aligned about 3 years ago, but has seen very little road use since then. Still, it drives straight as an arrow and tire wear is very even. Here's the alignment sheet:
[Image: wl9a43.jpg]

[Image: 2jaxcna.jpg]
  Reply
#7
I had a similar situation except mine is 1/2 inch out so I fabricated aluminum 1/4 plates on each side, that fixed that problem. Now for the dist. problem I have an aftermarket ignition with 8mm wires and when I went to lay the bar in place the bar just hit the wires compressing them so I added 3/8 washers on each hole shimming it up slightly. Looks good and it didnt seem worth it to brow beat my vendor so I just fixed it myself hope this helps.
  Reply
#8
427heaven;82162 Wrote:I had a similar situation except mine is 1/2 inch out so I fabricated aluminum 1/4 plates on each side, that fixed that problem. Now for the dist. problem I have an aftermarket ignition with 8mm wires and when I went to lay the bar in place the bar just hit the wires compressing them so I added 3/8 washers on each hole shimming it up slightly. Looks good and it didnt seem worth it to brow beat my vendor so I just fixed it myself hope this helps.

Thanks for the advice! Yeah, I'm considering doing something along those lines, but my curiosity is getting the best of me. I just don't understand how a piece designed specifically for my car doesn't fit in length OR clears a factory distributor. It just makes me wonder how straight my chassis is. Regardless, I'm not planning on returning the bar. I'll make it work. But I definitely need to figure out what the f*#k is going on with this car.

[Image: 2jaxcna.jpg]
  Reply
#9
I have one that is the same way. Would not fit a 71 or 73 fastback. and was short by over an inch. and my car is aligned just fine with no sign of the front end being out of whack.

It also won't clear a 351's distributor OR a 302's

I altered a modern GT 500 bar that was a take off to clear my distributor and it fit great. . . but won't clear my ram air plenum. Without it in place it fit fine.

I'm working on something, so hopefully I'll have an answer for an effective inexpensive monte carlo bar fairly soon

[Image: 1_01_07_15_8_53_18.png]

"I love my Hookers!" and "Get some Strange" probably have a different connotation to non automotive enthusiasts!
  Reply
#10
Jeff73Mach1;82174 Wrote:I have one that is the same way. Would not fit a 71 or 73 fastback. and was short by over an inch. and my car is aligned just fine with no sign of the front end being out of whack.

It also won't clear a 351's distributor OR a 302's

I altered a modern GT 500 bar that was a take off to clear my distributor and it fit great. . . but won't clear my ram air plenum. Without it in place it fit fine.

I'm working on something, so hopefully I'll have an answer for an effective inexpensive monte carlo bar fairly soon


Perfect! Glad to see I'm not alone. The rep at NPD told me nobody's complained or returned their bars, so I was starting to get worried it was my car, not the product. I guess maybe in my case it CAN be an issue with the bar itself. If you get your monte carlo bar setup to work, let me know. I'm definitely interested in seeing this invention of yours Big Grin I was considering cutting the brackets off mine and welding them to a slightly longer and beefier bar.

[Image: 2jaxcna.jpg]
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Wheel / Caliper Issues Bru 20 1,485 04-06-2018, 07:48 PM
Last Post: Bru
  One Piece Export/Monte Carlo Brace-Who's interested?? 4mm 30 4,147 07-19-2017, 09:07 AM
Last Post: Fabrice
  Front sway bar bracket fitment issue zsmith71 1 497 03-06-2017, 11:08 AM
Last Post: Stanglover
  Rear sway bar suggestion 73' mach 1 19 1,551 01-18-2017, 03:38 PM
Last Post: droptop73
  rear sway bar boilermaster 5 893 11-11-2016, 03:13 PM
Last Post: 87fox72mach
  Idler arm Fitment issues 14jaskew 2 731 06-15-2016, 05:19 PM
Last Post: 14jaskew
  Sway Bar Question 3k73 19 2,738 04-01-2016, 04:58 PM
Last Post: roadwarrior
  Rear brake issues - don't let this happen to you Justin71 8 1,338 03-30-2016, 09:41 AM
Last Post: Justin71



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)