• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Gauges fail and not
#1
Took Christine out for a mid winter ride after sitting for 2 months. and it took a long time for her to turn over and start (new battery), but I'm guessing she sat to long and it's been cold in NJ.

Just happened to look at the center gauges and noticed the Oil Pressure and Temp gauges weren't working while the Amp meter was working.

Obviously it pissed me off.

Got home after a 15 minute ride and thought let me try this.

Turned the car off, waited 30 seconds and started her up again and now both Oil and Temp gauges moved.

Obviously, very happy now, but what could have happened with them not working the first time out?

[/url][Image: mbpsrsig3_zps456db2cb.png]

[url=http://s165.photobucket.com/user/MPBsr25/media/mbpsrsig3_zps456db2cb.png.html]
  Reply
#2
The common link for both is the output of the CVR (constant voltage regulator), which routes from the dash circuit card through the underdash harness to the 3 gauge cluster harness. Somewhere in that wiring is a bad link. My suspicion is that it is the contact at the dash cluster card to the dash cluster connector: the weakest link.

I presume your fuel gauge on the dash was still working? If not, then the suspicion would focus upon the CVR.

Let me check your shorts!
http://midlifeharness.com

[Image: Flamicon2.jpg]


[Image: oldfart.png]
  Reply
#3
Fuel gauge was working fine.

Wonder if it had anything to do with the fact I needed to crank her for sometime to start after sitting for 2 months.

[/url][Image: mbpsrsig3_zps456db2cb.png]

[url=http://s165.photobucket.com/user/MPBsr25/media/mbpsrsig3_zps456db2cb.png.html]
  Reply
#4
(01-15-2018, 05:00 PM)mpbsr Wrote: Fuel gauge was working fine.

Wonder if it had anything to do with the fact I needed to crank her for sometime to start after sitting for 2 months.

Doubt that very much.

Let me check your shorts!
http://midlifeharness.com

[Image: Flamicon2.jpg]


[Image: oldfart.png]
  Reply
#5
Maybe a relay switch that turned back on?

[/url][Image: mbpsrsig3_zps456db2cb.png]

[url=http://s165.photobucket.com/user/MPBsr25/media/mbpsrsig3_zps456db2cb.png.html]
  Reply
#6
No relays involved...sorry. You probably just have a flakey connection somewhere.

Let me check your shorts!
http://midlifeharness.com

[Image: Flamicon2.jpg]


[Image: oldfart.png]
  Reply
#7
nod to midlife, electrical gremlins are those things that work sometimes and not others, you don't think anything changed but the car shuttered in a certain left right left pattern and made contact. Gremlins come and go, are damn near invisible, and are hard as hell to trace that's why they are gremlins.
  Reply
#8
I am in the process of bolting everything back on to the engine after removal. As i am starting to connect wires i am having to replace every wire i touch as the wires are so brittle and ready to snap or already snapped.

Steve
1971 Grandé
  Reply
#9
(01-16-2018, 03:59 AM)Pegleg Wrote: I am in the process of bolting everything back on to the engine after removal. As i am starting to connect wires i am having to replace every wire i touch as the wires are so brittle and ready to snap or already snapped.

midlife could prolly do all that for you in one fell swoop, send off harness with connectors, receive like newish harness with connectors.......boom.
  Reply
#10
runninpony 
+1...midlife is the man to see!


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
runninpony 3 Gauges Bulb Socket NOT A T5 3 212 08-13-2018, 08:37 AM
Last Post: midlife
  Tach/gauges conversion 73429mach 21 1,517 01-26-2018, 06:27 PM
Last Post: 73429mach
  Do fuel gauges fail in this manner? Flatback72 8 1,046 01-14-2018, 11:18 PM
Last Post: Flatback72
  center gauges question Kammertime 2 482 12-19-2017, 01:46 PM
Last Post: Kammertime
  Looking to upgade factory center gauges. Stanglover 43 3,269 09-03-2017, 02:50 PM
Last Post: Stanglover
  New Gauges won't allow car to start 73Grande/Mach1 5 819 03-09-2016, 12:46 PM
Last Post: Don C
  Only getting 8 volts to gauges Ogoz23 10 1,369 01-19-2016, 09:13 PM
Last Post: rocket366
  Auto meter gauges in-dash 73 MACH 1 MAN 31 8,719 10-13-2015, 03:03 AM
Last Post: DK73



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)