71-73 Swag

  • New T-Shirt Design (Also coffee mugs and posters!) – read more!
  • Mach 1 Key Tags available on eBay (Make an offer!) – read more
  • Convertible Key Tags available on eBay (Only 1 more left!!) – read more
  • Coupe Key Tags available on eBay (Make an offer!) – read more

  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
dash cluster
#1
I've answered my own question about a standard cluster with a tach added. It WILL NOT work. I purchased on of each and the circuit boards lighting and alignment don't match. From feedback from my last thread, evertone was correct. The only way is to modify to a tach harness. I will be changing my cluster to a standard setup and add an after market tach. I've already added gauges into the center bezel so warning lights are gone. No sending units. This car has nothing per the build sheet so I'm learning as I go.

[Image: 1_30_09_13_10_12_32.png]
Alan L
  Reply
#2
(08-27-2010, 07:52 PM)not2old Wrote: I've answered my own question about a standard cluster with a tach added. It WILL NOT work. I purchased on of each and the circuit boards lighting and alignment don't match. From feedback from my last thread, evertone was correct. The only way is to modify to a tach harness. I will be changing my cluster to a standard setup and add an after market tach. I've already added gauges into the center bezel so warning lights are gone. No sending units. This car has nothing per the build sheet so I'm learning as I go.

I feel you.my car is the same. Different engine from when it left the factory.{not complaining my car originaly came with a 302 and it had a 1970 351c 4v when I bought it} Added gauges and was thinking about getting the original gauges with the tach but 1000 bucks is stupid crazy.my car is not a mach I, just a fastback so I don't feel obligated to have a numbers match at all.I put an aftermarket shifter in there and also a tach on the steering column.I might of thought about the original setup if they made repro gauges and harnesses but they don't so I went {D.I Y. do it yourself}

In the end you've got to build it like you want it Cool

Eric


[Image: a58hgh.jpg]
DRIVE IT DON'T STORE IT!
  Reply
#3
I would hang on to your tach cluster. You never know when parts will pop up--you may find the tach dash harness when you least expect it.

[Image: 4zw1hv.png]
Dave

1931 Ford Model A Station Wagon
1969 Mach 1 - 351C, TKO-600, 4WDB, R&P, A/C, Shaker, Fold Down, etc.
1972 Mach 1 - 351C, FMX, PDB, PS, A/C, Fold Down, Console
1996 Mustang Cobra Convertible - 10psi Procharger
  Reply
#4
You should be able to get the circuit board for the factory tach - I've seen them for sale somewhere (CJ or OMP - can't remember which). If you want to get rid of the factory tach cluster, let me know - I'm looking for one and I don't mind getting a new circuit board or whatever to make it happen.

As well - how does one go about pulling the instrument cluster, anyway. I have all the mounting bolts removed, but I'm stuck on the plug and speedo cable. Does the cable connector push/twist and unlock, or does it unscrew (like my '82 did)?

Eric

[Image: mach1sig2.gif]
  Reply
#5
(11-22-2010, 09:00 PM)Mister 4x4 Wrote: You should be able to get the circuit board for the factory tach - I've seen them for sale somewhere (CJ or OMP - can't remember which). If you want to get rid of the factory tach cluster, let me know - I'm looking for one and I don't mind getting a new circuit board or whatever to make it happen.

As well - how does one go about pulling the instrument cluster, anyway. I have all the mounting bolts removed, but I'm stuck on the plug and speedo cable. Does the cable connector push/twist and unlock, or does it unscrew (like my '82 did)?

There is a tab on the bottom of the speedo cable that you press that will allow you to slide the cable off, no twisting or unscrewing needed. Seat the cable fully and the tab should be easier to push. To reassemble just slip it on till it locks. The plug has similar tabs on each side, depress and it will slide out. A little pocket mirror or hand mirror helps get your bearings back there.
Be careful on the driver side behind either the tac or the dummy cluster I believe there is a twist out light on a double wire. If you get too elated and rip the cluster out with it still in, what ensues is not fun.
  Reply
#6
This guy converts the harnesses

http://midlife66.com/harnesses/welcome.html
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Tips for troubleshooting dash lights? scgamecock 7 189 02-04-2018, 12:36 PM
Last Post: midlife
  Still no dash lights!!!! scgamecock 3 172 01-16-2018, 06:36 PM
Last Post: nailpounder
  Vendor link to gauge cluster circuit board? scgamecock 3 179 01-16-2018, 01:36 PM
Last Post: Don C
  Bench test a gauge cluster? scgamecock 1 135 01-16-2018, 08:52 AM
Last Post: TommyK
  Column have to be in for dash power to work? scgamecock 4 396 12-30-2017, 05:24 PM
Last Post: midlife
  New dash panel install Omie01 1 185 12-08-2017, 09:09 AM
Last Post: SVO2SCJ
Wrench Dash lights voltage regulator John J 3 289 09-29-2017, 05:25 AM
Last Post: midlife
  Bad Rattle from Passenger A-Pillar / Dash Pad area griffbl 8 526 08-21-2017, 10:05 AM
Last Post: griffbl



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)