• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Console Gauges - Dakota for replacements
#1
well i took out my console gauges just to put the white face gauges on them and when i reinstalled them the temp gauge stopped working. i know when i tried to put them back ine one of the post fell in and i had to hold it to bolt it back to the casing. well now it won't work. i made sure it wasn't the sending unit by ground the wire. i grounded the black wire behind the guage and still nothing. but the weird thing is, all of a sudden the ALT gauges wants to work.

now i want a replacement and because i can't read how hot my temp is getting. and thats not great when i run march pullies which slows down the water pump.

has anybody replaced all these guages? what sizes are they? if so, the indications read down and not like other gauges that read towards up.

i wouldn't mind the dakota gauges because these three gauges are something that stays stable and not like the speedo and the rpm that raises constantly and really never stays at one number. anybody got a link to purchase only the console gauges?
  Reply
#2
Hey Olie. Didn't I sell you some 460 brackets a few years ago? I have an original temp gauge I can send you if you're interested.

Bob

Tachs, Voltmeters, Headlight kits, Wiper delays and more at
[Image: smlogo.jpg]
Rocketman's Classic Cougar (and Mustang) Innovations, LLC
  Reply
#3
I have these but like the rest of my interior/wiring they are not installed yet.

http://www.dakotadigital.com/index.cfm/p...prd489.htm
  Reply
#4
i have the dakota digital installed in mine love it. check my garage theres a pic in there


  Reply
#5
homelessmexican;27688 Wrote:i have the dakota digital installed in mine love it. check my garage theres a pic in there

Was the Dakota easy to install? I'd like to add that to the 72 coupe since it doesn't have a tach.

[Image: 1gq8uo.png]
1971 Mach 1 - 306cid/C4 Bright Yellow
"Just relax, I've got a friend named Felix who can fix anything!" ~James Bond
  Reply
#6
rocketfoot;27698 Wrote:
homelessmexican;27688 Wrote:i have the dakota digital installed in mine love it. check my garage theres a pic in there

Was the Dakota easy to install? I'd like to add that to the 72 coupe since it doesn't have a tach.

See if this link works
http://www.dakotadigital.com/pdf/vfd3-g.pdf
  Reply
#7
TheRktmn;27678 Wrote:Hey Olie. Didn't I sell you some 460 brackets a few years ago? I have an original temp gauge I can send you if you're interested.

omg, it must of been 9 years since thats happened. your name looks so familar from the fordmuscle forum, which is now dead and they forced it that way when they started deleting post from people that didn't relate to car stuff directly. and they did this because the site got too popular i guess.

the funny thing is, after you found the PS brackets for me and sent them to me and i sent you the payment and went to the junkyard for a dipstick and throttle bracket. i started finding exactly what PS bracket i needed. however, it was still the best 70 dollar transaction i've gone thru for 460 stuff.

is there a way you can make sure that gauge still works?
  Reply
#8
I sure can. I will calibrate it at the same time - since it'll hooked up anyway. PM me your mailing address and I will get it out to you.

Bob

Tachs, Voltmeters, Headlight kits, Wiper delays and more at
[Image: smlogo.jpg]
Rocketman's Classic Cougar (and Mustang) Innovations, LLC
  Reply
#9
rocketfoot;27698 Wrote:
homelessmexican;27688 Wrote:i have the dakota digital installed in mine love it. check my garage theres a pic in there

Was the Dakota easy to install? I'd like to add that to the 72 coupe since it doesn't have a tach.

oh man it was to easy... im a plumber not an electrison. that being said, im not to shabby at electrical. but all you do is put gauges in your existing housings, the middle one where ur fule gauge is gets to be voided and now a clock, on your existing dash circuit boad deal, just track blinkers, high beams and a few others and plug them in to ur box from dakota digital and ur done... now you have to program your fule ohms (2 options like 2 ohms or 6 something like that, ours is a 2) and set your speedo all that takes is you driving with like a gps or a buddy and set it that way, any other questions about the dakota digital feel free to ask me i did it all by my self and its stupid easy
and thers just enough room to mount the box behind the gauge cluster WATCH OUT !!!!! i used self tapping screws but mount it to the right!!! if you go center or left of that you will drill through the brace and drill through the cowl... ie not good


  Reply
#10
correction
FORD 73-10 ohm (earlier -late 80’s) F 10 73 ohms 10 ohms is ours


  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Best radio replacements for 1971 Mustang Gary 7 279 10-21-2018, 10:44 PM
Last Post: Gary
  Console. Clock voltage EvilPuppetMaster 8 270 10-08-2018, 06:07 PM
Last Post: NOT A T5
runninpony 3 Gauges Bulb Socket NOT A T5 3 241 08-13-2018, 08:37 AM
Last Post: midlife
  Tach/gauges conversion 73429mach 21 1,594 01-26-2018, 06:27 PM
Last Post: 73429mach
  Gauges fail and not mpbsr 9 561 01-16-2018, 06:04 AM
Last Post: NOT A T5
  Do fuel gauges fail in this manner? Flatback72 8 1,073 01-14-2018, 11:18 PM
Last Post: Flatback72
  center gauges question Kammertime 2 511 12-19-2017, 01:46 PM
Last Post: Kammertime
  Console Clock restoration / repair Stanglover 35 3,698 12-10-2017, 11:12 AM
Last Post: NOT A T5



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)