• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Center Gauges
#1
I need to upgrade the 3 center gauges to new electric ones. I am rebuilding my motor and want something more accurate. I have checked out a bunch of different threads on the site. I still need to figure out exactly what way of mounting  them, but I’m pretty sure I have that figured out. They are 2 1/8” but I think I can make them work.
So I see most guys are using the VDO gauges. I found these from Classic Instruments and was wondering if anyone has tried them? They are expensive, but made in the USA and have the same type of sweep as the original ones. Plus, they come with a 7 year guarantee. About 320 bucks with the senders. Actually they are made in Boyne City, Michigan. 

.png   DEDEF4BA-88C0-4261-B365-89D2F7DE0B15.png (Size: 66.81 KB / Downloads: 279)
.png   5ED6D727-D27C-482E-B128-F49A45AB029A.png (Size: 64.22 KB / Downloads: 280)
.png   CD58CC05-0099-48E0-96EB-EB37064FF291.png (Size: 66.75 KB / Downloads: 275)

run_horse Run Horse Run!
John 72 Q Code
  Reply
#2
If you take them apart, remove the bezels and shields, and use the 3-gauge cluster shields, they'll look like they belong there - especially, all of them matching themselves.  They're distanced far enough from the main instrument panel to help blend in as well.

Otherwise, you might have to do some modifications to the gauge cluster itself to use the gauge bezels and have them looking like their pictures (if that makes sense).

When I swapped in the Bosch voltmeter in mine, I removed the bezel and glass and installed back into the gauge cluster as if just replacing the gauge itself, and here's how mine turned out - doesn't quite match the other factory gauges, but 'close enough' in my book.

[Image: attachment.php?aid=42454]

[Image: attachment.php?aid=43080]

Hope this helps.  Those look like nice gauges - I hope they work the way you want them to.

Eric

[Image: mach1sig2.gif]
[+] 1 user Likes Mister 4x4's post
  Reply
#3
(12-27-2018, 12:44 PM)Mister 4x4 Wrote: If you take them apart, remove the bezels and shields, and use the 3-gauge cluster shields, they'll look like they belong there - especially, all of them matching themselves.  They're distanced far enough from the main instrument panel to help blend in as well.

Otherwise, you might have to do some modifications to the gauge cluster itself to use the gauge bezels and have them looking like their pictures (if that makes sense).

When I swapped in the Bosch voltmeter in mine, I removed the bezel and glass and installed back into the gauge cluster as if just replacing the gauge itself, and here's how mine turned out - doesn't quite match the other factory gauges, but 'close enough' in my book.

[Image: attachment.php?aid=42454]

[Image: attachment.php?aid=43080]

Hope this helps.  Those look like nice gauges - I hope they work the way you want them to.
Thanks Eric, I did see your post on this and that’s one of the ways I was thinking about installing them. It looks great! Only problem is that the ones I’m looking at are 2 1/8” instead of  2 1/16”. I may have to make a different way to mount them instead of using the gauge pod.

run_horse Run Horse Run!
John 72 Q Code
  Reply
#4
So I bought these electric gauges and am waiting for them to get here. I also got the correct senders for them. I’m not really sure what to do about wiring them. I have a factory tach car with the factory center gauges. I know the new volt gauge gets wired different, but what about the oil and temp? Do they use the same wires as the factory ones do?

run_horse Run Horse Run!
John 72 Q Code
  Reply
#5
(12-29-2018, 06:51 PM)jpaz Wrote: So I bought these electric gauges and am waiting for them to get here. I also got the correct senders for them. I’m not really sure what to do about wiring them. I have a factory tach car with the factory center gauges. I know the new volt gauge gets wired different, but what about the oil and temp? Do they use the same wires as the factory ones do?

You can use your existing wires for the sending units, but your power leads may change and you may require a true ground to operate the gauges.

Let me check your shorts!
http://midlifeharness.com

[Image: Flamicon2.jpg]


[Image: oldfart.png]
  Reply
#6
(12-29-2018, 08:08 PM)midlife Wrote:
(12-29-2018, 06:51 PM)jpaz Wrote: So I bought these electric gauges and am waiting for them to get here. I also got the correct senders for them. I’m not really sure what to do about wiring them. I have a factory tach car with the factory center gauges. I know the new volt gauge gets wired different, but what about the oil and temp? Do they use the same wires as the factory ones do?

You can use your existing wires for the sending units, but your power leads may change and you may require a true ground to operate the gauges.
Ok, thanks. I was hoping to be able to at least use the wiring for the senders, so that’s good. Electrical stuff is definitely not my strong suit, but I don’t think it will be that hard to do. Been reading every thread I can find about it and should be able to figure it out.

run_horse Run Horse Run!
John 72 Q Code
  Reply
#7
I finally got my new gauges in. Here’s a few pics.                    

run_horse Run Horse Run!
John 72 Q Code
[+] 2 users Like jpaz's post
  Reply
#8
Looks great. I need to get mine done one of these days.

73 Grandé H Code. Headman long tube headers, T-5 Transmission, 3.70 Traclok, Lowered 1" all around, Aussie 2v heads w/ 2.19 intake, 1.71 exhaust, screw in studs, full roller cam 608/612 lift 280/281 duration LSA 112, Quick Fuel 750 CFM double pumper, AirGap intake.

- Jason


[Image: 082-hot-rod-power-tour-2017-1970-1970s.jpg]
  Reply
#9
Looking good John.
Funny thing is I just and only just realized I put my oil gauge on the right side, not the left. Oh well, too late now without a lot of work. While looking for this (early ) picture (before I corrected the box thingy above), I noticed I had mocked it up correctly, oil on the left, but somehow final mounted it on the right. Hmmm!
Also it looks like you fabbed up a similar mounting bracket. You are going to love having good gauges.

Geoff.

[Image: IMG-0217.jpg]

I learn something new every day!
  Reply
#10
Sweet!  I love that look!  Well Done!  thumb

Eric

[Image: mach1sig2.gif]
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Factory tach and center gauges without changing harness? TheDude 16 1,290 01-07-2019, 09:28 PM
Last Post: midlife
  New Gauges won't allow car to start 73Grande/Mach1 6 1,145 12-27-2018, 12:28 PM
Last Post: B229218
runninpony 3 Gauges Bulb Socket NOT A T5 3 420 08-13-2018, 08:37 AM
Last Post: midlife
  Tach/gauges conversion 73429mach 21 2,226 01-26-2018, 06:27 PM
Last Post: 73429mach
  Gauges fail and not mpbsr 9 757 01-16-2018, 06:04 AM
Last Post: NOT A T5
  Do fuel gauges fail in this manner? Flatback72 8 1,257 01-14-2018, 11:18 PM
Last Post: Flatback72
  center gauges question Kammertime 2 747 12-19-2017, 01:46 PM
Last Post: Kammertime
  Looking to upgade factory center gauges. Stanglover 43 4,227 09-03-2017, 02:50 PM
Last Post: Stanglover



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)