• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Center Console Gauges
#1

.jpg   Speedometer.JPG (Size: 29.2 KB / Downloads: 317) [attachment=19843]Hi,

Let me try to explain what I'm doing and hopefully it makes sense.

First of all I have a '72 convertible without the center gauges. I bought the New Vintage Speedometer and Tach assembly. It comes with the voltage, temperature, oil pressure, and fuel level gauges built in. I think my mechanic can wire those in. I'll have to let you know if I have any issues there.

What I am looking to do is add three gauges to the center console because I like that look better. I'm not sure what gauges yet. I'm thinking fuel pressure, oil temperature, and ??? What do you recommend? And since I have no wiring, etc. for them what will I need to purchase to make them work.

Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks,

John
  Reply
#2
An engine vacuum guage is cool to have. I have an Equus brand and it works great.

351w - Ford racing GT40X 178 cc aluminum heads - Ford racing(crane) 1.7 roller rockers - Comp Cams 280H magnum cam .544" / .544" lift - ARP fasteners - hedman longtubes - magnaflow exhaust with X pipe -  MSD digital 6al box - MSD coil - optima red top battery - tuff stuff 140 amp alternator - ported weiand stealth intake  - edelbrock 1406 600 carb  - march pullies and brackets - Be cool fan controller - derale electric fan - FMX trans - motive 4.11 gears - traction lok - competition engineering subframe connectors - lakewood traction bars.                                            










  Reply
#3
Mikes73;153574 Wrote:An engine vacuum guage is cool to have. I have an Equus brand and it works great.

Good idea... I guess I would need a sending unit and harness to go to it.
  Reply
#4
jhawk635;153578 Wrote:
Mikes73;153574 Wrote:An engine vacuum guage is cool to have. I have an Equus brand and it works great.

Good idea... I guess I would need a sending unit and harness to go to it.

Should only need a vac line ran off of the manifold through the firewall. With that fancy instrument cluster I can't imagine that there are any more gauges you could possibly need (other than vac). Wiring any of the other popular ones (temp, oil pressure, voltage) is super easy. You can just buy a kit that has them individually or a 3 pack. All you do is change out the sending unit in the engine with the aftermarket one and run the line to the gauge. The instructions should answer it all. It really is simple.

-Former 70 & 72 Mustang Owner.
-69 Torino GT, Formal Roof, 351W, Edelbrock 600 cfm, Edelbrock 351W Performer RPM intake, headers, AOD trans, dual flowmasters w/H pipe, Pertronix II Billet, 3.5 TRACLOC g/r, 15" Magnum 500s, 100A alt, aluminum radiator, electric fan, Pro-car seats, mini-starter...owned since Dec 13.
-70 Mach 1, 351W, Edelbrock E-Street EFI, VHX instrument cluster, Hooker headers, dual flowmasters, Pertronix II, 15" Magnum 500s, 150A alt, aluminum radiator, dual electric fans, Pro-car seats, mini-starter
  Reply
#5
rutkak;153580 Wrote:
jhawk635;153578 Wrote:
Mikes73;153574 Wrote:An engine vacuum guage is cool to have. I have an Equus brand and it works great.

Good idea... I guess I would need a sending unit and harness to go to it.

Should only need a vac line ran off of the manifold through the firewall. With that fancy instrument cluster I can't imagine that there are any more gauges you could possibly need (other than vac). Wiring any of the other popular ones (temp, oil pressure, voltage) is super easy. You can just buy a kit that has them individually or a 3 pack. All you do is change out the sending unit in the engine with the aftermarket one and run the line to the gauge. The instructions should answer it all. It really is simple.

I hear you! I just really like the look of the 3 gauges opposed to w/o them. The vacuum gauge seems to be the way to go and any of those others would be redundant, so I don't want to that. Since I have to fill those spots I'm thinking that the other two might be a fuel pressure gauge and maybe oil temperature.

Thanks!
  Reply
#6
Vacuum is a must and if you want something else beneficial, I would want a transmission temp, and fuel pressure
  Reply
#7
caspianwendell;153584 Wrote:Vacuum is a must and if you want something else beneficial, I would want a transmission temp, and fuel pressure

I think you're right. Those definitely make sense. One other thing that is bugging me. The standard gauge size appears to be 2 1/16" but I recall the hole diameter in the instrument panel being less than 2". Has anyone ran into this? Or am I missing something?

Thanks!
  Reply
#8
Hi Jhawk,

Check out my tutorial post on center console gauges.Well worth the read, and should help put you in the picture.


http://www.7173mustangs.com/thread-seeki...uage-setup

Thanks,

Greg.Smile

whistling LORD, MR FORD - JERRY REED
  Reply
#9
I'd make it a boost/vac gauge... You know.. in case a turbo happened to trip and fall into your engine bay. Big Grin

1973 Mach 1 Q code 351 4V, 9A paint, standard interior, 3.50 rear, C6 trans.
  Reply
#10
Hey Jhawk,

One thing that wasn't made clear in your initial post, do you have the center dash panel w/ 3 gauge pods in it, or the panel without ?

I recently installed 3 aftermarket gauges into a new 3 hole center dash panel I bought from OMS. When I bought my car it didn't have the 3 gauge center dash panel and like you, I really liked the look of the panel w/ gauges. I found that some of the components required for installing the OEM gauges were both difficult to find and expensive so I decided on the "aftermarket" option. My car isn't a perfect concourse restoration anyway so it wasn't difficult to make that decision.
The install wasn't too difficult really. It did require a small amount of intestinal fortitude because I had to take a dremel tool w/ abrasive drum bit to a brand new, fairly expensive part in order to fit the gauges in properly. One slip up and I would have wound up with a $180 piece of garbage. I used 2" Equus brand gauges. You'll notice the gauge pod holes are not perfectly round and more "egg shaped". What I had to do was round out the holes by sanding or grinding the plastic equally from both the left and right side of each hole. The measurement from top to bottom of each hole is just slightly over 2" which worked out perfectly for the 2" gauges. If you're using a new 3 hole dash panel, you'll find there is a small chrome ring bordering the opening of each hole. Part of the ring will disappear when you round out the holes but you'll have to very carefully grind down the remaining part of them at the top and bottom so the gauges will seat flat and uniformly within the pod. You will probably have to do a very small amount of touch-up with some satin black paint after you've done all the grinding and shaving. I found that the spin on retaining ring that comes with the gauges worked perfectly to secure the gauges within the panel. I'm not sure if it actually needed it but I also put some 2" O-rings (not pictured) around the gauges in order to "clean-up" the install a little more and also to reduce any squeaking from vibrations during normal operation of the car.

Here are a few pics of the unfinished project. Good luck on your install. Looking forward to seeing pics .
  Reply
Share Thread:  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  additional gauges SteveO_71 10 661 05-25-2018, 06:21 PM
Last Post: mudbilly
  Factory Gauges... what should they read? rackerm 22 1,725 04-16-2017, 08:17 AM
Last Post: goodnigh
  Triple Gauges Omie01 5 866 08-18-2015, 05:29 AM
Last Post: Omie01
  Easy way to remove center emblem on rimblow steering wheel? jeff8877 8 1,781 08-09-2013, 04:14 PM
Last Post: 72HCODE
  Mechanical or electric aftermarket gauges? OPN PONY 12 1,524 06-29-2013, 08:29 PM
Last Post: OPN PONY
  Do you have a 73 with full gauges? Monterey 4 938 11-29-2012, 02:41 AM
Last Post: eddyw



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)