Current time: 12-02-2016, 11:42 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Welcome to 7173Mustangs.com!

You are currently viewing the board as a guest. Please Register or Login for full functionality

If you registered and did not receive your email validation, please send a contact note to the admin by clicking here and filling out the short form.



 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
dash cluster
Author Message
not2old



*
"Norm"

Posts: 850
Joined: Aug 2010
Region: East
Upper Marlboro, MD
Reputation: 15



Meet and Greet 1 - 4

    Post: #1
    dash cluster

    I've answered my own question about a standard cluster with a tach added. It WILL NOT work. I purchased on of each and the circuit boards lighting and alignment don't match. From feedback from my last thread, evertone was correct. The only way is to modify to a tach harness. I will be changing my cluster to a standard setup and add an after market tach. I've already added gauges into the center bezel so warning lights are gone. No sending units. This car has nothing per the build sheet so I'm learning as I go.
    Offline 08-27-2010 07:52 PM
    Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
    72fastback



    *
    One Too Many

    Posts: 1,456
    Joined: Jul 2010
    Region: Not Selected
    gatineau,Quebec,Canada
    Reputation: 9


      Post: #2
      RE: dash cluster

      (08-27-2010 07:52 PM)not2old Wrote:  I've answered my own question about a standard cluster with a tach added. It WILL NOT work. I purchased on of each and the circuit boards lighting and alignment don't match. From feedback from my last thread, evertone was correct. The only way is to modify to a tach harness. I will be changing my cluster to a standard setup and add an after market tach. I've already added gauges into the center bezel so warning lights are gone. No sending units. This car has nothing per the build sheet so I'm learning as I go.

      I feel you.my car is the same. Different engine from when it left the factory.{not complaining my car originaly came with a 302 and it had a 1970 351c 4v when I bought it} Added gauges and was thinking about getting the original gauges with the tach but 1000 bucks is stupid crazy.my car is not a mach I, just a fastback so I don't feel obligated to have a numbers match at all.I put an aftermarket shifter in there and also a tach on the steering column.I might of thought about the original setup if they made repro gauges and harnesses but they don't so I went {D.I Y. do it yourself}

      In the end you've got to build it like you want it Cool
      Offline 08-27-2010 08:21 PM
      Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
      69 Rustang



      *
      "A" List Customer

      Posts: 463
      Joined: Jul 2010
      Region: West
      The OC (California)
      Reputation: 6


        Post: #3
        RE: dash cluster

        I would hang on to your tach cluster. You never know when parts will pop up--you may find the tach dash harness when you least expect it.
        Offline 08-28-2010 01:32 PM
        Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
        Mister 4x4


        [Image: TXtagEric.png]

        *
        My Mail is Forwarded Here

        Posts: 6,167
        Joined: Aug 2010
        Region: Southwest
        San Angelo, Texas
        Reputation: 115



        Car of the Month Trophy Meet and Greet 1 - 4 Air Force Shooter

          Post: #4
          RE: dash cluster

          You should be able to get the circuit board for the factory tach - I've seen them for sale somewhere (CJ or OMP - can't remember which). If you want to get rid of the factory tach cluster, let me know - I'm looking for one and I don't mind getting a new circuit board or whatever to make it happen.

          As well - how does one go about pulling the instrument cluster, anyway. I have all the mounting bolts removed, but I'm stuck on the plug and speedo cable. Does the cable connector push/twist and unlock, or does it unscrew (like my '82 did)?
          Offline 11-22-2010 09:00 PM
          Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
          akherber



          *
          One of the Regulars

          Posts: 117
          Joined: Nov 2010
          Region: South
          Choctaw, Oklahoma
          Reputation: 6


            Post: #5
            RE: dash cluster

            (11-22-2010 09:00 PM)Mister 4x4 Wrote:  You should be able to get the circuit board for the factory tach - I've seen them for sale somewhere (CJ or OMP - can't remember which). If you want to get rid of the factory tach cluster, let me know - I'm looking for one and I don't mind getting a new circuit board or whatever to make it happen.

            As well - how does one go about pulling the instrument cluster, anyway. I have all the mounting bolts removed, but I'm stuck on the plug and speedo cable. Does the cable connector push/twist and unlock, or does it unscrew (like my '82 did)?

            There is a tab on the bottom of the speedo cable that you press that will allow you to slide the cable off, no twisting or unscrewing needed. Seat the cable fully and the tab should be easier to push. To reassemble just slip it on till it locks. The plug has similar tabs on each side, depress and it will slide out. A little pocket mirror or hand mirror helps get your bearings back there.
            Be careful on the driver side behind either the tac or the dummy cluster I believe there is a twist out light on a double wire. If you get too elated and rip the cluster out with it still in, what ensues is not fun.
            (This post was last modified: 11-23-2010 07:12 AM by akherber.)
            Offline 11-23-2010 07:11 AM
            Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
            Tnfastbk



            *
            I'll Lock Up

            Posts: 7,245
            Joined: Sep 2010
            Region: Southeast

            Reputation: 69



            Car of the Month Trophy Shooter

              Post: #6
              RE: dash cluster

              This guy converts the harnesses

              http://midlife66.com/harnesses/welcome.html
              Offline 11-23-2010 07:21 AM
              Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply



              Possibly Related Threads...
              Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
                Fix For Dim 71 to 73 Mustang Dash/Instrument Panel Lights OLE PONY 30 20,210 10-09-2016 08:25 PM
              Last Post: 4mm
                instrument panel/dash end Vinnie 16 1,115 02-06-2016 02:54 PM
              Last Post: will e
                how to remove instrument cluster salhi_aemr 7 1,031 08-21-2015 04:42 PM
              Last Post: Carolina_Mountain_Mustangs
                Dimming dash lights naa10104 12 1,536 04-20-2015 06:20 AM
              Last Post: trainey
                Dim Dash Lights, grounds Jmonahan43 0 448 01-22-2015 05:38 PM
              Last Post: Jmonahan43
                Dash removal naa10104 1 620 09-13-2014 11:10 AM
              Last Post: Manu Mach1
                LED for dash lights John J 12 2,101 07-20-2014 06:49 PM
              Last Post: rutkak
                Idiot Cluster to Tach Option rocket366 10 978 07-20-2014 06:42 PM
              Last Post: rutkak



              User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)