Current time: 12-05-2016, 11:37 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Welcome to 7173Mustangs.com!

You are currently viewing the board as a guest. Please Register or Login for full functionality

If you registered and did not receive your email validation, please send a contact note to the admin by clicking here and filling out the short form.



 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
dash cluster
Author Message
not2old



*
"Norm"

Posts: 850
Joined: Aug 2010
Region: East
Upper Marlboro, MD
Reputation: 15



Meet and Greet 1 - 4

    Post: #1
    dash cluster

    My 72 Mach has a cluster w/tach. However the harnes is for non tach cluster. Can I direct wire the tach to the distributor to make it work? And I also need a new circuit board the old one is bad. Do I need a standard cluster with warning lights type board to work for the dash lights to work. The circuit board seems to be a common failure with age, should I just buy a new board or try to get a complete used cluster.
    What's the best way to go?Dodgy
    Offline 08-24-2010 07:32 PM
    Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
    69 Rustang



    *
    "A" List Customer

    Posts: 463
    Joined: Jul 2010
    Region: West
    The OC (California)
    Reputation: 6


      Post: #2
      RE: dash cluster

      For the 71-73's the only solution for the tach cluster is a tach harness as far as I know. However, there may be a means of converting the existing harness. For my '69, the process was to re-pin the plug by moving pretty much every wire around to a new location and then splicing into the pink resistor wire off the switch. There were instructions for this at http://www.boss302.com for my '69, so it was a do-it-myself type job. For the 71-73's I do not know of such a document to walk someone through it. But, there is a poster at the Vintage Mustang Forum called "Midlife" who rebuilds and repairs harnesses as a side job. He might be able to do the 71-73 conversion for you. If you are a member there, PM him and ask.

      Regarding the circuit board--if you can find a reasonable priced new one, I would buy it. I would imagine the standard cluster and tach cluster boards are different--so if you haven't found a tach version it is a gamble.
      Offline 08-24-2010 10:32 PM
      Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
      OMS



      *
      PURVEYOR OF NEW AND USED MUSTANG PARTS

      Posts: 3,488
      Joined: Jul 2010
      Region: Northeast
      ohio
      Reputation: 146


        Post: #3
        RE: dash cluster

        Tach VS non tach boards are different
        Don
        Offline 08-25-2010 07:45 AM
        Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
        72HCODE


        [Image: NYtechDan.png]

        *
        My world is fire and blood.

        Posts: 2,990
        Joined: Jul 2010
        Region: Northeast
        New York
        Reputation: 139



        A+ Writing Meet and Greet 1 - 4 Tutorial Coin Shooter

          Post: #4
          RE: dash cluster

          HemiKiller 'Dennis' posted a good write up on modifying the harness slightly to convert a non-tach car over to a tach car.

          there is a bad one on the net that shows you how to cut up your harness to make it work, don't follow that.


          the best way would be removing the non-tach harness and replacing it with a tach one. i know that is not a great option since it would cost you a few hundred dollars.

          another option, instead of making it look stock behind the dash, you could run a set of wires into the engine compartment, i believe it needs ground and the Distributor side of the coil to make it work.

          http://www.mustangsandmore.com/ubb/RichP...auges.html <-- i think this is the 'bad idea' version.

          i know a lot of guys that keep the idiot lights on the left side of the instrument cluster with the clock, and then run a A-piller gauge pod with a tach and oil and vacuum gauges to avoid dealing with the center gauge cluster also.

          going the replacement route swapping harnesses can be dangerous to your wallet. I found out that there are at least 7 slightly different harnesses per year for all the different options ford offered. differences exist between sportroof and mach 1 and 71-early 72 cars and later 72 cars and 73s are very different, so you REALLY have to research what car the harness came out of and what options the car had.

          here is a good difference that cost me 100$

          71 cars included the underdash lighting and map lights on the main harness even if you didn't get them as an option.
          early 72 kepted the underdash lighting plugs, but ditched the map light part of the harness and moved it to a daughter harness that was sort of spliced in with plugs. Well i bought a map light for my car, DOH!!!
          73 they totally removed the underdash lighting plugs and map light plug if it wasn't ordered with it.

          The V4 and V2 harness is different slightly if you had the seatbelt warning lights its different.

          you would have to find a car similar to yours from the same year and if possible the same plant that made it to have a really good fit.

          That is why a lot of guy either forget about converting it, or go aftermarket.

          one thing i don't like about mounting a A-pillar gauge is you drill holes in the A-pillar cover. the A-pillar cover is REALLY rare depending on your body style (sportroofs) and once you cut it; It will cost tons of money if you ever want to restore it back.
          Offline 08-25-2010 12:52 PM
          Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
          vertstang73



          *
          Member

          Posts: 112
          Joined: Jul 2010
          Region:
          Irwin, PA
          Reputation: 4



          Shooter

            Post: #5
            RE: dash cluster

            (08-24-2010 10:32 PM)69 Rustang Wrote:  But, there is a poster at the Vintage Mustang Forum called "Midlife" who rebuilds and repairs harnesses as a side job. He might be able to do the 71-73 conversion for you. If you are a member there, PM him and ask.

            Here is the link to Midlifes posting about refurbishing harnesses:

            http://forums.vintage-mustang.com/1971-t...esses.html
            Offline 08-25-2010 01:07 PM
            Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
            cobra3073


            [Image: TNsuprmod.png]

            *
            Call Me a Cab

            Posts: 2,867
            Joined: Jul 2010
            Region: South
            Memphis, TN
            Reputation: 49



            Meet and Greet 1 - 4 Air Force Original Owner Mustang Award

              Post: #6
              RE: dash cluster

              As part of my transformation of "Ice" (my '73 Grandé), I swapped out the 302 for a 429-based 472. As part of that effort, I also removed the "gauge cluster" (including Tachometer and console guages from a '73 Mach I parts care) and installed them into the Grandé.

              I know my "limitations", so I got a neighbor (who is an electrician) assist me in the wiring effort. I ordered the "with/Tach" circuit board (as Don stated above, they are different) for a 1971 429 mustang and using the '71 and '73 wiring diagrams (both now here on the site), we wired up the tachometer (and everything else). I was EXTREMELY pleased with the results.

              Hope this helps.

              BT
              Offline 08-25-2010 01:24 PM
              Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
              not2old



              *
              "Norm"

              Posts: 850
              Joined: Aug 2010
              Region: East
              Upper Marlboro, MD
              Reputation: 15



              Meet and Greet 1 - 4

                Post: #7
                RE: dash cluster

                (08-25-2010 12:52 PM)72HCODE Wrote:  HemiKiller 'Dennis' posted a good write up on modifying the harness slightly to convert a non-tach car over to a tach car.

                there is a bad one on the net that shows you how to cut up your harness to make it work, don't follow that.


                the best way would be removing the non-tach harness and replacing it with a tach one. i know that is not a great option since it would cost you a few hundred dollars.

                another option, instead of making it look stock behind the dash, you could run a set of wires into the engine compartment, i believe it needs ground and the Distributor side of the coil to make it work.

                http://www.mustangsandmore.com/ubb/RichP...auges.html <-- i think this is the 'bad idea' version.

                i know a lot of guys that keep the idiot lights on the left side of the instrument cluster with the clock, and then run a A-piller gauge pod with a tach and oil and vacuum gauges to avoid dealing with the center gauge cluster also.

                going the replacement route swapping harnesses can be dangerous to your wallet. I found out that there are at least 7 slightly different harnesses per year for all the different options ford offered. differences exist between sportroof and mach 1 and 71-early 72 cars and later 72 cars and 73s are very different, so you REALLY have to research what car the harness came out of and what options the car had.

                here is a good difference that cost me 100$

                71 cars included the underdash lighting and map lights on the main harness even if you didn't get them as an option.
                early 72 kepted the underdash lighting plugs, but ditched the map light part of the harness and moved it to a daughter harness that was sort of spliced in with plugs. Well i bought a map light for my car, DOH!!!
                73 they totally removed the underdash lighting plugs and map light plug if it wasn't ordered with it.

                The V4 and V2 harness is different slightly if you had the seatbelt warning lights its different.

                you would have to find a car similar to yours from the same year and if possible the same plant that made it to have a really good fit.

                That is why a lot of guy either forget about converting it, or go aftermarket.

                one thing i don't like about mounting a A-pillar gauge is you drill holes in the A-pillar cover. the A-pillar cover is REALLY rare depending on your body style (sportroofs) and once you cut it; It will cost tons of money if you ever want to restore it back.

                I think I'm going to use my standard harnes and run wires from the tach cluster to the distributor. Less to modify and easier way to go. I like the stock tach look.....Thanks for options to everyone
                Offline 08-25-2010 07:26 PM
                Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
                Mister 4x4


                [Image: TXtagEric.png]

                *
                My Mail is Forwarded Here

                Posts: 6,172
                Joined: Aug 2010
                Region: Southwest
                San Angelo, Texas
                Reputation: 115



                Car of the Month Trophy Meet and Greet 1 - 4 Air Force Shooter

                  Post: #8
                  RE: dash cluster

                  OK - so school me on the tach. I have the 'clock/fuel/speedo' cluster and would prefer a 'tach/fuel/speedo' cluster. All of my gauges and plastic are in great shape, so I would be interested in swapping in a factory tach.

                  Is it possible, considering the circuit board on the back and are the gauges modular enough to allow simply finding a tach and swapping it with the clock and performing a little rewiring trickery? (I'm not as concerned with the wiring looking stock - I'm restoring mine to drive, not to win Concours de' Elegance.

                  I'll be reading the write-ups the links are posted to. Thanks in advance.
                  Online 08-29-2010 09:41 PM
                  Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
                  cobra3073


                  [Image: TNsuprmod.png]

                  *
                  Call Me a Cab

                  Posts: 2,867
                  Joined: Jul 2010
                  Region: South
                  Memphis, TN
                  Reputation: 49



                  Meet and Greet 1 - 4 Air Force Original Owner Mustang Award

                    Post: #9
                    RE: dash cluster

                    To answer your question, Eric...Yes, that is what I did. Rewired the stock tach and used a tach circuit board.

                    See my post above.

                    BT
                    Offline 08-30-2010 08:18 AM
                    Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
                    TheRktmn



                    *
                    One of the Regulars

                    Posts: 168
                    Joined: Jun 2011
                    Region: Southwest
                    Goldthwaite, TX
                    Reputation: 18



                    Shooter

                      Post: #10
                      RE: dash cluster

                      (08-29-2010 09:41 PM)Mister 4x4 Wrote:  OK - so school me on the tach. I have the 'clock/fuel/speedo' cluster and would prefer a 'tach/fuel/speedo' cluster. All of my gauges and plastic are in great shape, so I would be interested in swapping in a factory tach.

                      Is it possible, considering the circuit board on the back and are the gauges modular enough to allow simply finding a tach and swapping it with the clock and performing a little rewiring trickery? (I'm not as concerned with the wiring looking stock - I'm restoring mine to drive, not to win Concours de' Elegance.

                      I'll be reading the write-ups the links are posted to. Thanks in advance.

                      I make tachometer that uses the warning light cluster and matches the speedometer. It is a modern three wire hook-up so if you're running an MSD you won't need a tach adapter. You can see it here: http://www.rccinnovations.com/Mustangs.php just scroll down to the M7123S tachometer.

                      [Image: b67gqu.jpg]

                      Bob
                      Offline 06-21-2011 06:18 PM
                      Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply



                      Possibly Related Threads...
                      Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
                        Fix For Dim 71 to 73 Mustang Dash/Instrument Panel Lights OLE PONY 30 20,234 10-09-2016 08:25 PM
                      Last Post: 4mm
                        instrument panel/dash end Vinnie 16 1,119 02-06-2016 02:54 PM
                      Last Post: will e
                        how to remove instrument cluster salhi_aemr 7 1,041 08-21-2015 04:42 PM
                      Last Post: Carolina_Mountain_Mustangs
                        Dimming dash lights naa10104 12 1,543 04-20-2015 06:20 AM
                      Last Post: trainey
                        Dim Dash Lights, grounds Jmonahan43 0 451 01-22-2015 05:38 PM
                      Last Post: Jmonahan43
                        Dash removal naa10104 1 622 09-13-2014 11:10 AM
                      Last Post: Manu Mach1
                        LED for dash lights John J 12 2,118 07-20-2014 06:49 PM
                      Last Post: rutkak
                        Idiot Cluster to Tach Option rocket366 10 979 07-20-2014 06:42 PM
                      Last Post: rutkak



                      User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)